7th Annual AIF Best Paper Award Winners

Please join us in congratulating the 2019 winners! 

The AIF holds a contest each year for the best papers written by students. This year, we selected the award recipients from over 120 papers that have resulted through interactions with the facility. A committee consisting of NC State faculty and AIF staff reviewed the papers and determine the winners. These papers highlight the capabilities of AIF and enable us to fulfill our mission of reaching and assisting principal investigators, students, and external users.

Congratulations to Emily Mihalko!

Emily is in the Biomedical Program in the College of Engineering under Dr. Ashley Brown. Her paper, titled “Targeted Treatment of Ischemic and Fibrotic Complications of Myocardial Infarction Using a Dual-Delivery Microgel Therapeutic,” was published in ACS Nano in 2018.

“Here, we have shown a dual-delivery microgel strategy to treat acute and chronic MI by controlling the release of fibrinolytic protein tPA and cell contractility inhibitor Y-27632 from a C/S nanogel design that localizes the release of these therapeutics to sites of injury through nanogel fibrin specificity.” ACS Nano, 2018, 12, 8, 7833

Congratulations to Zhiren Luo!

Zhiren is in the Mechanical and Aerospace department in the College of Engineering under Dr. Chih-Hao Chang. His paper, titled “Magnetically Actuated Dynamic Iridescence Inspired by the Neon Tetra,” was published in ACS Nano in 2019.

“We report an engineered nanostructured material with dynamic coloration and iridescence that can be magnetically tuned.” ACS Nano, 2019, 13, 4, 4664